Potty Training

Potty training is something that every parent looks forward too!!!! There are many reasons why this is such a big important life event, cost of diapers, the fact that you don’t have to wipe someone elses but anymore. I remember being so happy when my first son learned to use the potty all on his own. Even more excited when my other 2 sons came already potty trained!!!! Big bonus there!!!

Now why, when I have three teenage boys am I writing about potty training you ask? I think at this moment there so much more to potty training than we realize when they are young… We are so excited for them when they accomplish this goal(more so for ourselves) We teach them the basics along the way. They leave little clues that maybe they need help learning how to do things. This is all finished without another thought at a pretty early age!!!

I haven’t thought about potty training in about 10 years until yesterday!!! OMG R U Serious!!!! I go upstairs to use the potty during my 15 min work break and to my surprise what do i find? Poop!!!! It’s on the toilet seat, Its in the toilet being accompanied by 30 pounds of toilet paper and an overflowing toilet!!!!!

So now my fifteen minute break, no longer a break… I ask around, anyone poop recently? and of course the response I get “yeah I took a crap” one of the great things about teenage boys!!!! “Well did you notice the mess you left?” ” I didn’t leave a mess” well now at this point I am not going to argue I know the horror I just had to clean up. Learning experience please always check that you have cleaned up after yourself and that you are not shoving 30# of tp down into the toilet for 3 little poops!!!

Potty training tips even at the ages of 12. 13, and 14!!!!! Proving that your job as a parent is never truly done!!!

2 thoughts on “Potty Training

Leave a comment